The Fourth Annual Commitment to Compassion luncheon is an opportunity to both celebrate the compassionate among us and learn about the importance of compassion in health care.

It takes place Feb. 27 at the Muhammad Ali Center, and will honor 11 individuals nominated by their peers for going above and beyond the call of duty to provide compassionate care to others. The award recipients all find a way to express compassion to patients and others as part of their daily work.

The program will include a panel discussion entitled “The Benefits of Compassionate Care.”    The panelists are Kim Tharp-Barrie, System Vice President of Norton Healthcare Institute for Nursing and Workforce Outreach, Aiyesha Stiles, Family Nurse Practitioner, and Cissy Musselman, community leader and quadruple bypass surgery survivor.

Dr. Sarah Moyer, the Director of Louisville Metro Government Department of Public Health and Wellness, will speak to the group.

The event’s emcee is Dr. Harry Pickens, the renowned jazz pianist known for his work in Louisville as a life transformation coach. Pickens recently received the The Kindred Healthcare Lifetime Achievement in the Arts Award from the Fund for the Arts, and is a performing artist, educator, composer, author, and workshop facilitator.

The award winners represent a cross-section of Louisville’s health care community, including executives, doctors, nurses, teachers and administrators:

Bob Mueller, Senior Vice President, Fund Development, Hosparus Health.

Amanda Corzine, clinical coordinator,  and Vicki Yazel, assistant clinical coordinator, are with Sexual Assault Forensic Examiner (SAFE) Services at U of L Hospital.

Matthew Adamkin, M.D., is an assistant professor for the U of L School of Medicine in the Division of Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation.

Rebekah Gossom is a Speech-language pathologist, specializing in infant feeding. She works in the Neonatal Intensive Care Unit at Norton Women’s and Children’s Hospital.

Nancy Kern, a nurse practitioner, is an associate professor of nursing at the Spalding University School of Nursing, teaching in the master’s program and training future nurse practitioners.

Abraham Aluel is a radiology technician in the Pediatric section at Norton Children’s Orthopedics of Louisville.

Joseph D’Ambrosio is Director of Health Innovation and Sustainability at the University of Louisville’s Trager Institute.

And these physicians from Norton Cancer Institute are being honored jointly for their work in cancer treatment:

Dr. John Hamm, a co-founder of Norton Cancer Institute, is the medical Director of the Norton Cancer Institute Research Program, and specializes in medical oncology.

Dr. Aaron Spalding, Executive Medical Director of Norton Cancer Institute, specializes is radiation oncology.

Dr. Don Stevens, a co-founder of Norton Cancer Institute, specializes in medical oncology and hematology.

The Commitment to Compassion Award was created four years ago, when Jill Bell, vice president and chief communications officer at Passport Health Plan, and Stephanie Barnett of ChooseWell Communities, along with members of the staff at Insider Louisville, came up with the idea of honoring health care professionals who show extraordinary compassion in their approach to their work, and their life.

The deadline to purchase tickets is Feb. 22.