National Anthem

Louisville players stand for the National Anthem before Monday’s regional matchup against Illinois State. | Photo by Jeremy Chisenhall

Following a dominant sweep of East Carolina in the NCAA Super Regional, Louisville will take on Vanderbilt in the Cardinals’ opening matchup of the 2019 College World Series.

First pitch between Vanderbilt and UofL is scheduled for 2 p.m. Sunday.

The Cardinals swept their way to the College World Series, beating ECU 14-1 and 12-0. Vanderbilt needed three games to get the job done, as the Commodores dropped their opening matchup against Duke, but rallied to win the next two thanks in part to a no-hitter from freshman pitcher Kumar Rocker.

UofL and Vanderbilt met for a single-game matchup on May 7 at Jim Patterson Stadium, where the Commodores beat the Cardinals 6-2. Junior second baseman Harrison Ray delivered the key blow for Vanderbilt that day, as he drove in two runs with a double in the eighth inning to put the Commodores up for good.

The Commodores and Cardinals have met four times in the postseason all-time. Vanderbilt beat UofL in the only Omaha matchup between the two teams. In this matchup, Louisville is the No. 7 overall seed, while Vanderbilt is No. 2.

Since the Cardinals last played, some of their stars have earned national recognition. Utility player Alex Binelas was named a Freshman All-American by the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association on Monday, and sophomore pitcher Reid Detmers was named a First-Team All-American by the NCBWA and Perfect Game. He also received First-Team All-American honors from D1Baseball. Junior shortstop Tyler Fitzgerald has also received an All-American honorable mention from Perfect Game.

Should UofL win on Sunday, the Cardinals would play the winner of Mississippi State and Auburn on Tuesday at 7 p.m. ET. If the Cardinals lose, they’ll play the loser of that game on Tuesday at 2 p.m. ET.

Texas Tech, Michigan, Arkansas and Florida State are in the other bracket of the College World Series. The winners of each bracket will clash in a best-of-three series for the National Championship. That series will begin on June 24.

Check out the College World Series bracket here.